Camino Lebaniego

Camino Lebaniego

Camino Lebaniego

Camino Lebaniego

The Camino Lebaniego is a pilgrimage route that runs entirely through the lands of Cantabria. Instead of the Cathedral of Santiago, the final destination is the church of Santo Toribio de Liébana, where pilgrims go to venerate one of the most important relics in Christianity: the largest known piece of the Cross of Christ.

This route dates back to the Middle Ages, when pilgrims on their way to Santiago de Compostela took a detour from their route to worship the remains of Santo Toribio de Liébana, who was believed to have healing and miraculous properties, and the Lignum Crucis, part of the wood on which Christ was nailed. For this reason, pilgrims on the Camino Lebaniego are known as "crucenos", those who came to worship the Cross.

The Camino Lebaniego runs between San Vicente de la Barquera and the monastery of Santo Toribio. Three stages are enough to reach Liébana, a route characterised by natural surroundings of great beauty through the rugged terrain of the Picos de Europa and the Cantabrian Mountains, combined with gems of Cantabrian heritage.

All this has led to the Lebaniego Way being included in the Pilgrims' Roads to Santiago in the north of the peninsula, recognised by Unesco as a World Heritage Site. The Camino Lebaniego has its own credential, which can be requested at the parish church of El Cristo in Santander. It can be done in person or by e-mail at or by calling 942 21 15 63. The Camino de Santiago Credential is also valid for overnight stays in hostels. In addition, the Camino Lebaniego has a specific document that certifies having made the pilgrimage to Santo Toribio: the Lebaniega.

Lebaniego Jubilee Year

The Camino Lebaniego has its own Holy Year: the Lebaniego Jubilee Year. Its celebration began in the 16th century as a result of the Bull of Pope Julius II in 1512, which granted this privilege. Thus, pilgrims on their way to Liébana who crossed the Gate of Forgiveness in the church of Santo Toribio received a plenary indulgence.

They receive plenary indulgence, that is, forgiveness for all their sins. To obtain the "jubilee grace", the pilgrim must fulfil three requirements: pray, go to confession and attend the Pilgrim's Mass, which takes place every day at 12:00 noon in the Monastery of Santo Toribio, during the whole Lebaniego Jubilee Year.

Until a few decades ago, the jubilee of Santo Toribio was limited to the week immediately following the patron saint's feast day. But in 1967 this criterion was changed. Since then, the Lebaniego Jubilee Year has been celebrated when 16 April, the Feast of Santo Toribio, falls on a Sunday.  It lasts for a full year from that date.
This year 2023 is the 76th Jubilee Holy Year of the Lebaniego Jubilee.

All stages

How to get to the starting point?

Stage 1

How to get to the starting point?
San Vicente de la Barquera

Stage Kms
28,5 km
Accommodations on the stage
Stage Difficulty

Camino de Santiago associations


Asociación de Amigos de los Caminos de Santiago del Norte de España y Santo Toribio de Liébana por Cantabria

Web page


Barrio La Venta de la Morcilla 39600 Revilla de Camargo